Photo of Michael B. Overstreet

Michael B. Overstreet



University of Texas School of Law, J.D., 2012

Texas A&M University, M.S., Accounting, 2009

Texas A&M University, B.B.A., cum laude, Accounting, 2009


Selected for 2016–2017 Tax Section Leadership Academy, State Bar of Texas

Houston CPA Society, Outstanding Committee Member of the Year (2015-2016)

Selected as Houston Chapter Representative for the 2016 Leadership Development Institute, Texas Society of CPAs

Recipient, Presidential Scholarship, The University of Texas School of Law

Bar Admissions



Michael Overstreet focuses his practice on tax planning and business transactions. He primarily assists clients with mergers and acquisitions, reorganizations, restructuring, recapitalizations, and entity formation. Prior to joining Chamberlain Hrdlicka, Mr. Overstreet was with a Houston-based firm where he represented privately-held and multinational companies in mergers and acquisitions and inbound/outbound tax planning.

Mr. Overstreet is both an attorney and a licensed Certified Public Accountant. He is actively involved with the Houston CPA Society and the Texas Society of CPAs.

Representative Matters

  • Represented civil engineering firm in approximately $73 million sale to publicly-traded, U.K.-based multinational corporation

  • Represented energy consulting firm in strategic acquisitions of reservoir engineering and downstream engineering consulting firms

  • Represented Houston-based private equity firm in acquisitions of privately-held companies

  • Advised multinational manufacturing company on application of Swiss and German tax treaties to establishment of U.S. corporate subsidiary

Seminars & Presentations

  • International Tax Update, presented to the Houston CPA Society International Tax Study Group, February 17, 2016

Professional Affiliations

  • State Bar of Texas, Tax Section
  • Houston Bar Association, Tax Section
  • American Bar Association, Tax Section
  • Texas Society of CPAs
  • Houston CPA Society; Membership Development Committee, Co-Chair (2016–2018); International Tax Study Group, Co-Founder