{ Banner }

Texas Lawyer Honors Larry Campagna, Managing Shareholder at Chamberlain Hrdlicka, with 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award

September 17, 2020

Larry Campagna receives Texas Lawyer Lifetime Achievement Award for 2020

Larry Campagna, the managing shareholder for national law firm, Chamberlain Hrdlicka, has been recognized today among the recipients of Texas Lawyer’s 2020 Professional Excellence Awards in the Lifetime Achievement category.

Texas Lawyer’s Professional Excellence Awards recognize lawyers for extraordinary professional achievements and their significant impacts in the legal community in Texas. In particular, the Lifetime Achievement Award honors those attorneys who have left a lasting imprint on the Texas legal community. The virtual awards ceremony in the recipients’ honor was held on September 17 and the award winners were listed on the Texas Lawyer website.

“Larry epitomizes the culture of excellence and collaboration that our firm strives to nurture daily. We are thrilled to see Texas Lawyer recognize his contributions to the profession and the community with the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award,” said Wayne Risoli, Chamberlain Hrdlicka’s chairman emeritus.

Campagna developed a national reputation as an authoritative litigator in matters of business litigation and criminal tax defense, as well as federal, state and local tax controversies. Throughout his 43-year career, he has resolved thousands of civil and criminal litigation matters, many involving sophisticated and complex legal issues that established precedent in courts at all levels. Now at the helm of Chamberlain Hrdlicka, he assumed the managing shareholder role just three months before the outset of the COVID-19 pandemic and the collapse of oil prices. While meeting the current challenges facing our community, he is moving forward with his strategic focus for the firm. Firm diversity in the professional roles and in its management team will be a high priority, as will additional expansion of firm capabilities to evolve with the needs of clients.

Campagna generously gives his time and expertise to the legal community, with substantial participation in the American Bar Association, where he currently serves the Section of Taxation as the Vice Chair for Administration, as a member of its Council, and as a member of the Committee on Appointments to the Tax Court. He previously chaired the Committee on Civil and Criminal Tax Penalties, the Task Force on Offshore Credit Card Cases, the Committee on Employment Taxes, and a subcommittee on IRS Investigations and Procedures. In Texas, he has served on the State Bar Section of Taxation Committee for Liaison with the Comptroller of Public Accounts.

Well-published, Campagna is a co-author of the casebook Tax Crimes, published by Lexis-Nexis, and he frequently speaks at industry events. As an Adjunct Professor at the University of Houston Law Center, he teaches a course on tax crimes and money laundering. He serves on the Advisory Board of Editors of the Journal of Tax Practice and Procedure. In support of the arts, Larry serves Houston’s Alley Theater as an Advisory Board member and past chair of the Individual Giving Committee. He is also a big supporter of public broadcasting and a champion of the firm’s United Way campaign.

Recognized by the legal community and his peers, Larry was unanimously inducted as a Fellow of the American College of Tax Counsel in 1995, where he now serves his second three-year term as a Regent. He’s been listed among Best Lawyers in America annually since 2010, including being named as 2014 and 2016 Lawyer of the Year Houston Litigation and Controversy – Tax. He continues to be ranked in Band 1 nationally and in Texas by Chambers USA since 2009 and has been named a Leading Lawyer by Legal 500. He has made the Texas SuperLawyers list annually since 2003 and has been named among the country’s leading federal tax litigators by America’s Top 100 Criminal Defense Attorneys since 2007. In 2019, Larry was named a Texas Tax Legend by the State Bar of Texas, one of the highest honors for the Tax Law Section, with only 26 attorneys selected to date.